Minor in Anthropology

The minor program in anthropology recognizes basic training in Anthropology as a complement to a major in other subjects, including Human Development, Psychology, History, Women’s and Gender Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice Studies, Biology and Geology. The minor consists of 20 units, at least 8 of which must be upper-division, chosen by the student in consultation with the faculty. Students must earn a C- or better in any course applied to the minor.

Anthropology minors usually take lower-division courses as prerequisites to upper-division courses, as well as upper-division courses that cover two or more of the four anthropological subfields. However, students also choose courses for the minor based on prior background in their major, emphases in course work most appropriate to their major, their special interests in anthropology, and the kind of contribution that anthropology may make to their broader academic and career goals.